The reputation of the touhou project games

potatolover

Hello, I would like to preface this by apologizing if my post is not up to standards, or if it is in the wrong place, as it is my first time posting here.

Before I decided to try out the touhou games, I noticed that there are 2 vocal opinions on the official touhou games' difficulty.
One of them is that they're pretty easy games for begginers (which is how I discovered this franchise and started playing it, and I am thus biased), while the other opinion is that the touhou games are extremely hard games.

I would like to know what you think of this, as I have very little experience in shoot them ups.
Nonetheless, I will try to bring up a few points.

What I noticed, is that most people who say the games are "hard" are people that never(or barely) had any exposure to shoot them ups before.
I've seen a lot of people try to apply their game habits from other genres (most notably first/third person shooter games) to shoot them ups, which often results in people misunderstanding how to play such games (a common example is people strafing quickly like they would in a first person shooter)
Thus, this leads me to believe that maybe the touhou games are simply considered "hard" because of a "lack of exposure" to this genre, as shoot them ups are now considered a niche genre.

On the other hand, I also noticed that people that have played a lot of shmups tend to say touhou is "easy", and try to steer away from them, which may be somewhat biased as they are very used to this type of genre.
This phenomenon will happen with everything, if someone is experienced in something, they will think the average knowledge/abilities of other people are higher than they actually are, as some things that are now second nature for them, still aren't known by most people.

Some other argument I see used by people saying "touhou is very hard", is that "the patterns are denser"